I leap on top of the back of the sofa, perfectly balancing and laughing and singing and dancing and I made this party happen because I am the party and I am so f*cking amazing and fun and everyone loves me and I begin to slip and then I fall but I’m fine because I’m flying through the air and the music is playing and everyone is having a good time and it’s ALL BECAUSE OF ME and I fly and I soar down and my face smashes into the table.

***

Holy shit are you ok?!”

I’m fine. It’s dark but the music is playing and there is laughter and talking and the party is still happening.

***

It’s dark but I’m okay. But the music has stopped. Why has the music stopped?

***

“Wake up!”

I open my eyes and blood is spilling onto a vinyl floor.

Why is the party in the bathroom? Where is the music?

“Are you ok – oh God – are you ok? Can you hear me?”

“I’m fine. I’m ok,” I yawn.

“Someone should call an ambulance.”

“Hey, can you hear us? Can you open your eyes again?”

The f*ckers have turned off the music for f*ck’s sake. And I’M the person that made this party happen. They were just going to go home and have a few drinks. Then I CAME ALONG AND I MADE THIS A PARTY AND NOW IT HAS STOPPED. WHY??

“Can you open your eyes?”

“Call an ambulance.”

***

Blink.

Firefighters are standing above me.

***

Blink.

Paramedics are leaning over me.

***

Blink.

I’m in an ambulance.

“Can you please drop me off at home?” I smile and yawn.

“Because I’m fine.”

